Eschew Boasts Thoroughly , Then Spit Them Out

People probably come to my not-busy blog in a similar fashion to my random link surfing that landed me at this  one.  There I found a spark for a post idea in one of her posts.

A while back some men’s blogs started to push back against so called red pill female bloggers. Parallel and most certainly linked to that push back, some men’s blogs also began tp limit female participation. Policy at blogs.like this one and this one and  even THIS one ranged from strict female comment rule enforcement to outright forbidding women from participating.  Doubtful I was alone when I wondered why this  hadn’t started sooner.

Not that more is needed, but there is an illustrative  affirmation in the linked post for those bloggers who chose to escalate comment enforcement. It’s something I already knew without really knowing that I knew it.

The title offers foreshadowing:

The Gentle and Quiet Spirit-Not a Personality Trait

A common proclamation that could be more succinctly and more honestly written as “I’m sassy!”.

By now we know they are all sassy. They are all strong and independent.In  case we forget,  women have disproved the Law of Conservation of Mass. That law is often  stated as “matter cannot be created or destroyed”. Women create entire multi-layered realities so that what they feel is always true, their beliefs, which are often created on the spot as needed, are not challenged in the created reality. And, well, the new reality actually has mass, therefore they are operating outside physical and thermodynamic boundaries.

She asks some edgy tough questions.

How could God put women in a box like that, expecting them to behave outside their personalities? Why does God command this to women but not to men?

Her husband must not be serving her to Matt Chandler’s standards or she’d be as content as the Soma takers in Brave New World.

So, she is sassy. And oh yea, uniquely sassy. And did I say talented and driven? Where in the bible would she go to up the matriarchal moxy? To the chase…..Proverbs 31, Yo.

Proverbs 31 is the primary passage talking about a woman’s internal beauty. Verse 25 says, “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.” So this woman clothes herself with strength and dignity

Watching the cipher being (rererere)-written is like seeing an oasis of high reasoning.It is

*** Super Cool Stuff…like a Champagne Supenova***

I was cut from the same cloth as Martha. I know how to get stuff done.

Never imagined a woman claiming such a thing. Well, any woman except every single Christian woman who feels she has to subtly write a resume that passive aggressively cements her into stealth egalitarianism and don’t you forget it buster.

Finally, here is what congealed the idea for the title of this post. In what is meant to seem like a moment of self reflection she says:

My spirit is LOUD. I’m always talking, always trying to figure things out and plan for all contingencies. I’m frustrated when things don’t go my way. I wish I could be in charge of everything and everyone because then I could make things (and people) better

There is truth there. It would make powerful confession and repentance. The context is meant to offer a hue of confession and a tenor or repentance. Perhaps they are there, I cannot know. But the fact is even those serve the narrative.

I recall a learned man’s interpretation of some women’s survey results that appeared in Christianity Today some time back. The results were impossible. There were things that ought to be mutually exclusive. Contradictory assertions that women made in statistic ally significant numbers. The analyst explained it as women wanting to see themselves being exactly the way they want others to view them. they can choose to see that even if two individual instances blatantly contradict one another.

It boils down to this. She lambastes the characteristics that she wants her Christian self to be seen as lambasting. She prominently states her relevant weakness and struggles are in the context of how the bible describes a woman’s right demeanor. In this way she gets credit for sassy (boasting), and credit for calling herself out for sassy (eschewing).

 

 

5 thoughts on “Eschew Boasts Thoroughly , Then Spit Them Out

  1. I WANT MY FRIED ICE WHEN I WANT IT AND I WANT IT NOW!

    I wish I could be in charge of everything and everyone because then I could make things (and people) better

    Wishes she was God. Cool. Nobody ever came up with that one before…

  2. Your interpretation of her post is much different from mine. If I boil it down, I read it to say that she is loud (not quiet) and wants to be in control (not gentle), but she realizes this is against scripture, and she is working to change to be a godly woman.

    She says (italics and emphasis mine):

    As I began to learn about this and process the vast difference between me and this godly woman in Scripture [described in Proverbs 31], I remembered the story of Mary and Martha (Luke 10:38-42). Martha was getting stuff done.
    […]
    That story really frustrates me because I was cut from the same cloth as Martha. I know how to get stuff done. This is a great gift, but I also misuse it and begin to do things I’m not called to do. The Proverbs 31 woman fulfills her responsibilities and leaves everything else to God.

    She says (italics and emphasis mine):

    My spirit is LOUD. I’m always talking, always trying to figure things out and plan for all contingencies. I’m frustrated when things don’t go my way. I wish I could be in charge of everything and everyone because then I could make things (and people) better
    [ … ]
    When I acknowledge my desire to control and its root in fear, I must confess and repent of the ways I’ve tossed God off His throne and put myself there. Where I don’t feel the weight of that sin, I beg Him to convict me deeply. Then I receive His forgiveness and grace, knowing His steadfast love and faithfulness are from everlasting to everlasting for those who love and fear Him (Sidenote: remember previous posts about the fear of God? Dwelling in the fear of God naturally cultivates quietness of spirit!)

    Empath says:

    There is truth there. It would make powerful confession and repentance. The context is meant to offer a hue of confession and a tenor or repentance. Perhaps they are there, I cannot know. But the fact is even those serve the narrative.

    I see her confessing and repenting. At the risk of being declared blue pill or a white knight, I wonder if you are presuming the narrative, and perhaps, just maybe, she really is an example of NAWALT.

  3. Traveling about the Earth, to ward and fro ward. Landed back here.

    Passed by my Grandad’s grave in Etowah on the way up from the Gulf.

    It was fun to travel in a manner in the blog surfing manner described here. Hard on the writing.

Leave a Reply

