“Paid off debt!” “Empower women!” “Live for me!” …..Proverbs 31:1-3

I found the fodder for this post when I followed Dalrock’s link to the CT story about the wife of the pastor jailed in Iran claiming that he has been abusing her, even from the prison cell.

The CT story I parsed is called The Divine Rise of Multilevel Marketing. I followed the link out of morbid curiosity based on my experiences with MLM companies in the mid 1980’s. I may be the last person in the U.S. to have heard about this company called 31 Gifts.

The founder of 31 Gifts is quoted in the CT article as saying [my added word]:

“We are a business that’s helping women make more income so they can reach their dreams and [then] look for what God’s calling them to do,”

A gathering of these prolific purse peddlers was held in Columbus, OH. The phrases in my title adorned ribbons worn by many of the women in attendance.

Each wore a string of ribbons designating their achievements and goals: “Paid off debt!” “Empower women!” “Live for me!”

Makes me break into song:

“Onward Christian vendor, Marching with accessories galore”

The  31 Gifts website makes some specious claims. I was aghast when I read that:

On average, a girl’s self-esteem peaks at age 9. And less than 7%* of all philanthropic dollars in the U.S. are directed specifically to women and girls.

Who knew? I’m thinking that with the right hand bag and pair of heels we can end the self esteem crisis in our lifetimes. And empower women. And women can pay down debt. And women can embrace the mantra “Live for me”. And once they have done those things they can look for what God is calling them to do.

 

 

4 thoughts on ““Paid off debt!” “Empower women!” “Live for me!” …..Proverbs 31:1-3

  1. A group of geese is a gaggle. A group of doves is a flock. There’s got to be a word that describes “nearly uncountable number of Special Snowflakes in one place” but I’m not able to think of it right now.

    Why does anyone read things like Christianity Today anymore?

  2. “A girl’s self-esteem peaks by the age of 9”

    Healthy self-esteem maybe. And then full-blown narcissism sets in.

    “Less than 7% of all philanthropic endeavors are set aside specifically for girls and women.”

    Maybe true also. There isn’t much need for philanthropy for women since they get Affirmative Action and other set-asides at nearly 100%.

  3. When they burn bridges with their friends and relatives because they don’t buy in to the pyramid scheme, they’ll feel even less empowered. “What do you mean you don’t want to become a member? You’ll have your own business! All you have to do is get a bunch of other people to become members then they pay you! Why don’t you come to this seminar with me, they’ll explain it to you.” Then next week, their married sisters aren’t answering the phone when they call.

Leave a Reply

