Long tailed cats and hypnotherapists, do they have a grievance?

Long tailed cats were slighted but even my Hemingway-esque no-tail cat went to bed pissed (and sober) last night.

Perversely, long tailed cats would have loved to have been the subject of a PSA that played during the Super Bowl.

Its bad enough that dogs and horses are heroes. But these damn cats actually wanted to hear an airy announcer say, ” Go on, show me how you’d be as nervous as a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs”.

It is a valid complaint. Nervous people need their self image bolstered. As we saw last evening, when women decide that despite the weight of an entire culture, codified law, church dogma, the pope, and the President of the United States skewed their way, they crave more and more ridiculous levers with which to pry away any vestige of gender differentiation.

That the cis-hetero-white-patriarchal-establishment sometimes says…..”run like a girl” must be really bad to commend the cash to run ads during the Superbowl. My nine year old daughter said, “Dad, what was THAT about?…..Stupid”. Proud dad says she is a gifted child so I cannot fail to be vigilant with her, that she not become the kind of person who has enough free time to concoct said idiocy.

The tastiest irony was that the women and girls who were, at first, asked to run like a girl actually, naturally, comfortably….ran like girls. I don’t care how they run, just run in a direction away from me and mine.

Rock stars are pitching  “Party like a….” adverts.

A handful of hypnotherapists are trying to figure out where they come down on the whole “bark like a dog” thing.

10 thoughts on “Long tailed cats and hypnotherapists, do they have a grievance?

  1. Proud dad says she is a gifted child so I cannot fail to be vigilant with her, that she not become the kind of person who has enough free time to concoct said idiocy.

    Amen to that!

    But was it just me,or was there an overabundance of dad commercials last night as well? And what does that mean…exactly? a couple of them were pretty good. Well, sort of.

  2. @Cane
    Is that some sort of back handed reference to the decade and a half of “extra experience” I have on you? I want to say, “rocking chairs my ass”……but that sentence gets dangerously close to some flat truth.

  3. @Empath

    Ha! Rather, I was trying to figure out the symbolism of the long-tailed cat. The only cultural artifact I know of is “Nervous as a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs.”

    Off-topic (I think): You mentioned the horses and dogs hero commercials, and that reminded me of an unwritten post I had forgotten.

  4. And that’s the cultural artifact I was using. I had a boss who was from Odessa. He spoke mainly in West Texas simile. He’d create them on the spot, absolutely brilliant and hilarious.

Leave a Reply

