New in Blog Roll

I’ve added a new link in the blog roll. Its called Matthew’s Problem with Authority. Matthew posted here a couple of times and I followed him back to his place where i found he does not accept comments. In his about page he says that is because most people disagree with him, and if one wishes to comment they should start a blog of their own. Well, I’d already done that so here we are.

There is a particular reason I wanted to place him on the roll though. After reading through many of his posts, I realized i was reading stuff i could well have written myself when I was in my early 20’s. I have been in his thought house looking out the same windows, so, I think i can see in those windows pretty clearly.

I do not wish to just pop out disagreements with Matthew, nor to sag into some debate quagmire over obvious things that jump out as low fruit for train wreck type posts and comments. Rather, when reading things like he has written you can get some really new ways of seeing certain things, even if you disagree. So, his link is there to remind me to parse his blog and comment on it here.

Take a look and let me know what you think…..nicely please.

22 thoughts on “New in Blog Roll

  1. Excellent blog. I’ve just read “We ride on the backs of the poor” and “Inner beauty, a hypocritical fallacy” and “The meaning of life-dancing”. I will spend some more time reading the rest of his posts later tonight. He’s very thought provoking and interesting. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. But lets unpack, “We ride on the backs of the poor”. its one of the ones I wish to parse. I am sympathetic to his view because I held it once, and because I was raised very poor. But the post has tons of problems.
    i suspect you and Matthew are closer in age than I am with either of you and that may explain a lot.
    I like how he expresses himself and the raw lack of fear (aside from refusing comments) he demonstrates, but thought provoking writing begs for thought, no?

  3. I also like how he expresses himself..I’ve read through some more of his posts, I agree with many of his opinions, and some of it is things I too would think but never dare to express. A few posts I didn’t agree with because I found them a little bizarre? (But we all have thoughts that would sound bizarre when said out loud I believe) for example “Why cuddling is better than sex”, this is not really understandable for me- for somebody to think this, especially a man. And plus sex is for procreation too and between husband and wife I don’t understand how cuddling could be preferable. I’m also a bit unsure about the “A pelvic exam is rape” post too, I understand his reasoning and it was an interesting read, but I’m not really in agreement.

    “We ride on the backs of the poor”, I agreed with. I am not an American, I am European,(in Cyprus) and since our financial crisis people will work for much smaller salaries. I (and many others I know) have worked for well below minimum wage, a physically demanding job, despite us having a national minimum wage. But in desperation people will work for much less, because if they don’t, somebody will. Where he says he is angry that they don’t demand more, I can understand his perspective. But from my perspective, I see another side to it, if we demand more we just lose the job and the chance to make any money, because there is always somebody who will do the work. Is it better to demand more, get refused and then be unemployed and hungry?

    Even still, there are people in other countries like Matthew mentions, who work for much, much less. And I often consider when I buy new clothes that were made in India, how much money the little girl or boy got paid for making them, and how much money is being made off them. It’s sad, and it’s something a lot of people don’t express.
    So overall I agree with him on this one

  4. i suspect you and Matthew are closer in age than I am with either of you and that may explain a lot.

    I’m early 20’s

    I suspect Matthew is under 30. I will soon be 51. I will talk about why it matters as i respond

  5. Empath:
    “Slavery never really ended.” Matthew writes “The poor are our beastsof burden.”

    While I do agree with him about outsourcing, this notion really rubs me the wrong way.The ‘beasts of burden’ in America are the productive men who shell out nearly half of their incomes to subsidize the nearly 1/3 of Americans living like parasites on the public dole. Matthew should come to my city and check out the ‘noble poor and homeless’. A bunch of arrogant, belligerent, self-entitled criminal scumbags who’ve so undermined the quality of life here that the city is voted one of the LEAST family and business-friendly environments in the US right now.

    This really wrankles me because around the holidays we’re bombarded with hero-worship of the ‘poor’ and how deserving they are. In reality, most of them are total losers who couldn’t survive a week without handouts.

  6. @ Eric:

    I agree. In this country there are so many who can work if they chose to work, but the government now gives so much in the form of welfare that our entire economy is spiraling down the bowl as a result.

    Perhaps the Tea Party folks are accurate…..

  7. I understand sympathy with the poor, and frustration with the system, and envy of the haves and even the attraction to the simplicity of what Matthew writes. In fact, having been on government food programs, homeless for some time as a child (meaning we lived in spare rooms of other families), etc. I remember being radically all in for anything that would even things out.

    This comment is in response to two of Matthews posts, the one about the backs of the poor and another about outlawing being rich where he says:

    Most of the money a person “makes” or “earns” is money he/she acquired with the help of other people (co-workers and consumers). Therefore that money should be shared with those other people[ ]Giving a single person the power to spend anything greater than a middle-class income on personal expenses indicates that person has somehow acquired more money than he/she deserved. It means there is an unfair distribution of the shared wealth, which means someone is being exploited, and this should be illegal.

    I recall that as a corporate employee just out of college, I still clung to some of those beliefs because “the company paid for it” was almost like “the government paid for it”, where both seemed to be endless sources of money.

    Several things happened.

    I moved away from my hometown which was a dysfunctional and poor area to a suburban area where i was around earners more than needers or takers.

    I started seeing the impact of taxes on my pay.

    I eventually bought a small business which at its peek employed 49 people.

    Seeing people earn, and learning that many of them were 100% where they were with zero having been given them (like me) made me see just how bad the unwillingness to work, and the incentive to get the dole was a curse on my native area. All imaginable schemes to get a government check were things that at one point in my life I cheered for. Now I was seeing the folks from whom the largess of these amalgam of these scams was coming.

    I recall getting a pay increase once early in my career, and my pay went down a tiny bit because of the effect of a marriage and my crossing an income bracket threshold.

    Finally, when I scraped and saved and then risked everything i had and then some to borrow and bought a business for myself, and I saw that every move the government made that would be seen as good by the Matthews of the world, was flying right back in my face. i had taken a blank piece of land and built a business that was employing 49 people…..brand new jobs that did not exist previously…and I was paying unbelievable amounts of money to taxes and all manner of stupid fees that, if described, Matthew and you may think are wonderful programs.

    Who decides what a middle class income is? Why should the person who started with nothing, scraped and saved and did without, then risked every penny of that to build a business and hire people at wages the market sets, be considered having more than they deserve?

    if he were to make a point about the merits of charity, Im all in. If he were to state that its bad to ignore others suffering, I’m all in, and have lived as such. But what he says is something akin to an unaccountable peanut gallery.

    Regarding the issue of slave like wages in other countries….you mentioned India, its a strange dynamic that took me a long time to get used to. I am responsible for procuring the raw materials for a factory in India. I have spent a lot of time there since 2009. There are some simple facts you may be ignoring.

    If there was not the cost advantage there, the factory would not be there, nor would the vast majority of the factories there. The people would be left to their own internal markets, which are inadequate to support the billion folks OR there would be domestic demand fueled industrial growth. The very WORST thing that could happen for India would be some UN mandated global minimum wage. The economies of those countries would collapse and they would go back to subsistence.

    Matthew seems ok with that too though, because he says in yet another post we should look to how people lived and stayed healthy 150 years ago. Sure, they lived to 50 on the top end, I just don’t understand how I once thought the same way. It makes no rational sense. It is viewing a micro-scaled section of an economic activity and FEELING that by fiat one can change that one tiny set of circumstances and no ripple effect occur.

    If you choose to buy goods made in the first world because you can be sure there is no exploitation, you may indeed be avoiding true slave labor….however…..if folks were to do that in large numbers, slave labor would be the least of worried as people in cities like Mumbai, where they cannot subsist by farming, would simply starve for lack of the admittedly pitiable wage they earn.

    His

  8. Matthew is not a Christian (yet), so we need to understand that.

    Empath: Have you communicated to Matthew that we are discussing his posts here at your place?

  9. @ Embrace:

    I prefer this gravatar pic. I was curious about the former. Was that language Greek? I wonder what it stated?

    Yes it was Greek I think, the other language (across the mountains) is Turkish….

  10. My previous employer was using Limassol as our corporate headquarters for the low tax rates. tax avoidance in Cyprus is a huge boost to the local economy. The nice thing about Cyprus was there was a low rate, BUT, a fully audited and legitimate corporate structure and basis unlike others like Isle of Mann, Caymans, etc.

    Those companies choosing to office in Cyprus are doing so fleeing the kinds of thinking exhibited by Matthew and manifest in policy ion our local governments. This is good for Cyprus and good for those companies.

  11. vasc….He posted here so he will be notified, and he gets a notice because he is in the blog roll here. No, I have not and you make a good point. I should tell him by email, its not my intention to sneak

  12. “My previous employer was using Limassol as our corporate headquarters for the low tax rates. tax avoidance in Cyprus is a huge boost to the local economy.”

    Wow you know about Cyprus! I thought it was a relatively unknown little island for Americans so far away. 😀

  13. I have a small painted tile that has a picture of a harbor there. The office manager from Cyprus gave it to me at the company’s Christmas party in Rome in 2001. I was never able to get to Cyprus because our company failed in 2003 and filed bankruptcy. the owner was Israeli, just a short hop flight to Tel Aviv from Cyprus, and the office manager was Belgian. I was the only American in the company. There were 8 people total, globally. I got to know about Cyprus because of all that.

  14. I do sometimes expose myself to other people’s ideas. That’s how I found your blog. But I find arguing on the Internet to be maddening, and I find the morally and ethically corrupt world we live in makes it even worse. There are too many evil people and not enough time.

  15. rationalize: to think about or describe something (such as bad behavior) in a way that explains it and makes it seem proper, more attractive, etc.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/rationalization

    Somehow I neglected to refer to this concept in my post that condemns gynecology.

    Why do I hate gynecology so very much? Because I like women and because I hate human authority figures, and gynecology goes in the wrong direction on both of those issues. Gynecology mistreats women while glorifying authority figures, and so I was basically born to oppose it. My mother, who raised me, taught me well.

  16. Matthew, don’t you think gynecology is necessary for women’s health? Is it better that a woman die of cervical cancer than undergo the discomfort of pelvic exam? And to determine miscarriage..and complications during labor?

    I understand your point.. but I wonder if you realize that such an exam saves lives.

  17. Matt, perhaps you conflate disagreement with evil intent more often than it is the case? We are all teachable, you included. If not, then we are not as clever as we think we are.

    I do not understand this at all:

    Gynecology mistreats women while glorifying authority figures

    In the sense that authority figures are glorified, that would apply to any medical doctor would it not? So, not accepting doctors as authority figures is one thing. Now the mistreating of women….are female gynecologists guilty as well? How about gastroenterologists? I have Crohn’s disease, Sorry for the forthrightness, but I can assure you the violation is regular and repeated. Is that mistreatment? A root canal is very harsh, holding an orifice open while drills and picks and mallets work inside, that is pretty invasive. Yet we open wide and tolerate it.

    What would you propose as an alternative, or would you at all?

  18. It seems to me that a woman could opt to not use the service of a gynecologist if she viewed it as Matthew does. Both me and my son have medical issues, as most all of us do. I very much dislike doctor appointments for a few reasons, but opt to use medical services to optimize my health.

    I also have issues with “authority figures”. Especially when is comes to church. According to the bible the church body is to participate such that the person who is gifted as a teacher should “preach” and afterward the others should discuss that preaching and decide if it was correct. That is not done and is not allowed. The lead pastors are the extreme authority figures and if folks in the audience voice disagreement, then that person is considered a divider or worse.

    Matthew, I liked in one of your posts when you stated that you once hated Jesus Christ, but then changed it to hating Christians. I really can identify with that to a point. When I attend church I listen to what is said, but I do not just automatically take it on faith that the pastor on stage is correct in everything he says. The only entity that I will trust implicitly is Jesus Christ. Matthew, although you do not share my Christian faith (yet), I believe you will agree with my train of thought with this. Mat, check out this blog: http://quitplayingchurch.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/obey-god-rather-than-men/
    I found it a few days ago.

  19. I also hate Susan G. Komen, by the way. (Last month was breast cancer awareness month.)

    So many things I hate about modern moral values.

  20. Hi, I found your blog because of following Matthew Chiglinsky’s internet tracks. I actually found value in a few of his posts, so I followed him, I even liked a few of them from my reader. Then I received a torrent of the most horrendous comments I’ve ever received. I think you should read them, this man does not respect or like women.

    “Bikinis are slutty, materialistic, and pretentious. Jesus Christ. Modern females are such brainwashed, weak sex objects. It’s no wonder you get raped. Don’t wonder why men don’t respect you. Do you notice that men don’t usually wear bikinis? You females have “sexy” confused with “feminine”.

    I see you wear tops with cleavage showing too, also like a typical slutty modern female. You’re really cute, but really we don’t need to see the folds of your breasts.

    I take back what I said about you being a good wife/mother. I don’t know you. I shouldn’t jump to conclusions. I’m just surprised at the recent anti-sexual posts on my blog where you clicked “Like” (as if you agree?) and then you post this sex garbage.

    I put faith in no one. People are all corrupt.”

    “Shaving legs is misogynistic, sexy but abusive, an unnatural chore and a burden to place upon women. Grooming nails … do I have to read all of this sexist garbage? Ugh.

    How about men just don’t get married? You women all have such low self-esteem I don’t think you’re worthy of marriage. Maybe men should just use you all like the whores that you are.”

    “Sexy undies and oral sex? You’re a whore, a whore who just happened to get married. It’s amazing how many whores there are on the Internet. It’s like you whores can’t get enough attention from real men in your life so you come here on the Internet to get it from strangers by talking about sex for no good reason.

    I talk about sex on my blog a lot, to condemn it, because I tried it and found it to be unhealthy.

    Remember, there will be no marriage in heaven.”

    His comments were really hard to read, they actually made me feel sick to my stomach. Honestly, why promote someone’s blog who does this to women. I’ve been tracking him on the internet and apparently he does this to transgenders, gays, and lesbians as well.

Leave a Reply

