Stepping willingly into hot water, at 33 rpm

I will attempt to spark a revolution. The target is small and manageable. Its a newish local church that we found ourselves in for Easter.

We’d been before, when they met at a local school, and frankly I like the young preacher. A lot. And I’m weary from being church fickle. At some point I have to go Joe Jackson on someone’s ass and see what happens. Now I will get my chance.

On Thursday this week, I will attend the opening of the second installment of “33, The Series”. I have to plug in somewhere, I have to try, even if I’m shaped like that clunky round prong UK-ish plug while I’m trying to slide into that side-size-dependent American outlet. In essence, not a fit, but going to try and force it.

After Googling the 33 series and watching some of the Men’s Fraternity videos, I know exactly what to expect. We will watch a vid, then discuss. That’s where I come in, offering a POV that will invite the gentle rebuke of the churchian knight. I intend to audio record the discussions and transcribe some hopefully interesting and useful information here.

If I can reach just one…..

6 thoughts on “Stepping willingly into hot water, at 33 rpm

  1. Empath, be sure to inform everyone that you are audio recording the event, otherwise you will open yourself to criminal and civil liability.

    Otherwise, I can’t wait to hear more. I am working myself up to the point of taking a more active role in “unplugging” people, and would like to hear some other people give their stories.

    [Thank You…..yes I am aware of this and will have casual recorded agreement from the group or I will not record]

  2. Awesome. I’m looking forward to this.

    Luke 21:13-15

    13And so you will bear testimony to me. 14But make up your mind not to worry beforehand how you will defend yourselves. 15For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict.

  3. Empath:
    OT, but can you believe that dolt Futrelle was sneering over Easter. After condescendingly wishing a Happy Easter to those ‘who still celebrate it’, he takes issue with Welmer for suggesting that St. Magdalene’s transformation into a responsible woman was a positive thing and an example for today’s errant women.

    ‘Evidently MRAs never take a holiday from being dicks!’ he hooted (after hinting that he was rushing out to stock up on discounted Easter candy LOL)

    His airhead groupies have managed to leave nearly 300 comments, which seem to center on the DaVinci Code and gender-identity disorder; as nearly as I can comprehend them.

  4. I missed the Futrelle thing. I exposed myself to that stuff for awhile when I first started this and have not gone since. Maybe a look is in order

  5. Whoa. So often I speak to my male aquaintences on the net about Authenticity and Integrity, and here you lead me to a first-class exposition. Even the ‘trailers’ hit me around the ears.

    Please do let us know how it went.

    Good Grace be onside.

Leave a Reply

