Christian Music, Comfy Pillow or Rocky Cliff

I was listening to Christian music on the TV, cable music channels. Over the course of an hour or so I started to notice a pattern that I never considered before, so, as per my personality it sent me Google.

I googled the top 100 Christian songs of all time, the top 10 female Christian songs, the top ten male Christian songs, these in various configurations and combinations. I then read several lyrics.

I wasn’t surprised by the results, but I had never thought about this before. Can you guess what I’m on about?

Overwhelmingly, the female songs have one theme and the male another. Generally, women sang love songs to Jesus, songs of freedom,  songs of safety and security, or understanding (empathy, though the word was not used) where Jesus understands and cares.

Also overwhelmingly the male songs were what I’d properly label as praise and worship songs. They declared Gods mighty power, His enduring love, His sacrifice as such, that He is able, that He saves.

See the difference?

One is reverence and awe. Men I would say are worshipping the mighty powerful and benevolent God, fearing and respecting Him and exalting Him because He doesn’t need anything from us, we need Him, yet, He gives. It creates an image of a rocky cliff, an ancient oak, a mighty fortress, a refuge from the harsh reality we live in, something steadfast to which we can cling, and from which we can gain hope.

The other is intimate and relational, soft,  give and take, ebb and flow, empathetic and understanding, not an image of a rocky cliff or an ancient oak, but of a canopy bed and wind blown drapery, a softened lens and backlit image of a gentle face with a furrowed brow knit in deep understanding.

Initially I thought there is nothing wrong with this, that both aspects of Christ are real, and reasons to accept Him. But then I dug a little deeper, and searched music over time, over the decades even to a century back. I found that the masculine imagery was the only imagery back a hundred years ago. The average hymnal will confirm that. Then I realized that with the beginning of feminism in the church, which started in the 60’s, came the beginning of these love songs to Jesus.

There are many conclusions that can be drawn. I’m going to leave this at the facts and let you draw them yourselves.

You can verify this with your own search, I will not post and analyze all that here, its too tedious.

Oh, an interesting tidbit is that men hold the number one slot in music charts something like 80% of the time.

The song of freedom I like the most is Redemption Song by Bob Marley, take that all day over the vague references to freedom by female Christian singers (freedom from WHAT? not sin….likely low self esteem)

Old pirates, yes, they rob I
Sold I to the merchant ships
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit
But my hand was made strong
By the hand of the almighty
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly
Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
‘Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs

Bob Marley

One thought on “Christian Music, Comfy Pillow or Rocky Cliff

  1. You know, I wouldn’t necessarily mind if there were SOME songs of the more feminine kind, but sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in it. I still give praise, but to be honest it’s so soft and fluffy at times I don’t even feel like it. As you say–awe and wonder–where’s that?

Leave a Reply

